News & Publications

Media Release

Matthew Flinders (Marina) Bridge Closure

Gladstone Regional Council will be conducting safety upgrade works on Matthew Flinders (Marina) Bridge from 8 November till early December (Stage 1), and from 27 January 2022 to late February 2022 (Stage 2).


There will be limited to no access to the Matthew Flinders Bridge from 6am to 6pm as below:


Double lane closures - Monday 8 November, Tuesday 9 November, Wednesday 10 November.

Expect delays. Road detour to and from Marina Parklands via Alf O’Rourke Drive. No pedestrian access on bridge.


Single lane closures - traffic controllers will direct motorists and pedestrians.

Thursday 11 November to Friday 12 November

Monday 15 November to Friday 19 November*

Monday 22 November to Friday 26 November

Monday 29 November to Friday 3 December*

Monday 6 December to Friday 10 December.


Marine closures (bridge cannot be raised without coordination)

Wednesday 10 November to Friday 12 November

Monday 15 November to Wednesday 17 November

Monday 22 November to Friday 26 November

Monday 29 November to Friday 3 December

Monday 6 December to Friday 10 December.

Above dates are subject to change.


Identified events requiring reduced closure times include:

*Friday, 19 November- Toolooa State High School prom - road fully open from 3pm.

*Friday, 3 December– Santos GLNG Mayor's Carols - road fully open from 3pm.


The bridge will return to full operation on weekends, outside the 6am-6pm work hours, and at times when daily works are completed earlier than planned.


If you have any questions about this project, please contact Gladstone Regional Council on (07) 4970 0700.

Matthew Flinders (Marina) Bridge

NEWS CATEGORIES

Matthew Flinders (Marina) Bridge

PRINT FRIENDLY PDF