Board of Directors

The Gladstone Ports Corporation (GPC) Board assumes overall responsibility for corporate governance practices within GPC and monitors the performance of the organisation, management and employees. 

The Board, in conjunction with the Chief Executive Officer, establish and implement our operational, financial and strategic direction as outlined in our one-year, five-year and long-term plans

Ongoing government, customer, community and employee consultation assists the Board to enact the corporate objectives defined in these plans.

Dr Anthony Lynham


The Honourable Dr Anthony Lynham is a maxillofacial surgeon with extensive experience in ministerial and policy oversight of Queensland’s major publicly owned utilities and key infrastructure projects.

Dr Lynham began his surgical career in Queensland and became recognised here and internationally for his work in the surgical management and prevention of maxillofacial trauma.

In 2014, he was elected as the Member for the Electorate of Stafford before serving as a Senior Minister in the Queensland Government.

Dr Lynham is well known for his tenacious work in improving working conditions and driving investment in our state’s resources industry . Under his leadership the most significant reforms in mining health and safety that our state has seen were introduced protecting our workers now and into the future.

First appointed 26 August 2021

Current term 26 August 2021 – 30 September 2025

Grant Cassidy


Grant is an experienced Company Director and a long-term resident and business owner in Central Queensland. For the past 17 years, Grant has been Managing Director of his private businesses, operated under the Cassidy Hospitality Group banner. Grant’s previous 15-year career in the media industry has provided him with an in-depth knowledge of sales, marketing and media management. As a very active and long-term contributor to the area’s community organisations, Grant was Chair of Capricorn Enterprise (the region’s peak Tourism and Economic Development organisation) for 10 years, as well as a former serving Board Director at Tourism Queensland, where he also chaired their Audit and Risk Committee. He also served on the boards of CQ University and Rockhampton Girls Grammar School. Grant is the current Chair of Regional Development Australia — Fitzroy Central West Region, Vice Chair of Beef Australia, Chair of the Rockhampton Salvation Army Red Shield Business Appeal and Chair of Capricorn Business Advisory Alliance. He is also a member of the Rockhampton Regional Council Advance Rockhampton Committee and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

First appointed October 2015

Current term 1 October 2018 – 30 September 2022

Peta Jamieson

BA (Hons), MScEnvMgt, GAICD

Peta has extensive experience in Queensland State Government, Brisbane City Council, the Local Government Association of Queensland, and is the director of her own management consultancy. She has extensive executive and operational experience and a clear understanding of how government and its policies and processes work. Peta is a strong advocate for the Bundaberg and Wide Bay Burnett Region. She is actively involved with community, commercial and government bodies such as the Wide Bay Burnett Regional Organisation of Councils on local and regional projects and initiatives. She is also Chair of the Wide Bay Hospital and Health Board and member of its Finance Committee, Executive Committee, Audit and Risk Committee and Safety and Quality Committee.

First appointed October 2015

Current term 1 October 2018 – 30 September 2022

Dr Prins Ralston


Dr Prins Ralston was appointed Chief Executive Officer of Townsville City Council in North Queensland in November 2020.  Previously, Prins was the independent Head of TaskforceNQ, the coordinating body for the North Queensland region’s recovery from the Health, Social and Economic impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic.  Prins is also a Principal at Nous Group with previous experience as CEO of international human and health services companies, as a Partner with national legal firms Clayton Utz and Gadens Lawyers and has led the Information Communications and Technology profession in Australia and South East Asia and has shown consistently that he can balance quality service delivery to customers with commercial objectives and social outcomes. Prins has been a Board Director for over 30 years and has worked extensively with boards and executives for many companies delivering on their critical strategic, policy, organisational design and capability, and leadership opportunities and challenges in Australia, New Zealand and United Kingdom.

First appointed October 2020

Current term 1 October 2020 – 30 September 2023

Paul Heagney

BCom, GDipAppFinInv

Paul has over 20 years’ managerial, commercial and executive experience in commodities. He has experience in marketing, logistics, international trade, financial and operational risk management gained in the agriculture and resources industries.

He was formally a director of the Australian Sugar Milling Council and Chairman of its inaugural Trade Committee, a director of Australian Molasses Trading, Chairman and Director of both M&M Molasses and Mourilyan Molasses Terminal Company. Paul is Principal of Kippax Consulting which provides advice focused on business strategy and development, international trade, commodities, and logistics. He has a Commerce degree from the University of Queensland and a Graduate Diploma of Applied Finance and Investment.

First appointed October 2020

Current term 1 October 2020 – 30 September 2023

Dr Poya John Sobhanian


Affectionately known as “Dr PJ” by his patients, PJ has in-depth knowledge of Central Queensland (CQ) and Wide Bay-Burnett regions through his entrepreneurial background and service as a former Gladstone Region Councillor (GRC). PJ was Chair of GRC Commercial Services Committee overseeing economic development and driving performance in key commercial assets, such as the Gladstone Airport Corporation and the Gladstone Entertainment and Convention Centre. PJ has a reputation of strong action on good governance, business improvement and sustainable economic development. He has been a repeat Speaker at the Developing Northern Australia Conference. PJ brings additional experience as a former Board Member of the Gladstone Area Water Board helping the strategic delivery of IT optimisation and effective community engagement. Additionally, as a Board Member of the Central Queensland Hospital and Health Service, and Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee, PJ has been part of the strategic team leading the successful mission of protecting Central Queenslanders’ lives during the COVID-19 pandemic.

First appointed October 2020

Current term 1 October 2020 – 30 September 2023